About Us

The Department of Community Programs was established in 1996 with a mission to address crime prevention issues and to provide a greater array of social and human services needed and desired by citizens. This milestone achievement was the culmination of efforts that started in 1988 with a $10 million grant from the Annie E. Casey Foundation. That was followed in 1991 with a Fighting Back Grant of $5 million from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. Then, in 1993, Little Rock voters passed a 1/2 cent City sales tax to permanently designate City funds to sustain and administer Prevention, Intervention, and Treatment (PIT) funding (in addition to other major city initiatives). In 2011, voters overwhelmingly approved an additional 5/8 cent sales tax for operations in order to meet the increased needs of the city. As a result this support, to our knowledge, the City of Little Rock’s Department of Community Programs (DCP) is the only city in America set up this way. The Department operates on an annual PIT budget of $5.5 million dollars which in 2017 supported more than 50 programs and served more than 11,600 Little Rock children, youth, and families.

If you would like to refer someone to our services, please email ProgramReferral@littlerock.gov

Community Programs Staff

Dana Dossett

(501) 399-3486

Amber Garrett

Program Monitor
(501) 371-4479

Juvaris Grant

School – based Intervention

Wayne Burt

School – based Intervention

Gerry Stewart

Program Coach

Michael Sanders

Assistant Director
(501) 399-3442

Eleanor Louis

Administrative Assistant
(501) 399-3420

Dwight Pridgeon 

Re-Entry Coordinator 
(501) 371-4476 

Charity Tyler

Community Engagement Specialist
(501) 371-4791


For More Information

Department of Community Programs
Little Rock City Hall
500 West Markham Street
Room 220W
Little Rock, AR 72201
Office: (501) 399-3420
Fax: (501) 399-3425

If you would like to refer someone to our services, please email ProgramReferral@littlerock.gov