City Departments

The City of Little Rock has fourteen (14) City Departments, and approximately 2,500 employees who work hard to maintain and improve the quality of life for our 202,000 citizens. To accomplish this task, the employee work group focuses on the Little Rock City Board of Directors four (4) main areas of focus: Public Safety; Infrastructure; Economic Development; and Quality of Life.

Three of the City’s Departments are nationally accredited:

  1. Little Rock Police Department: Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies, Inc.
  2. Little Rock Zoo: The American Zoo Aquarium Association
  3. Little Rock Fire Department:  Commission on Fire Accreditation International